Born to Run

This will be my blog on my training, nutrition, time-management, and everything in between in preparation for the Women’s Half Marathon in November in St. Petersburg, FL.

I’m Stephanee, a 20 year old who discovered running in December of 2009 and although I’m a newbie to some things, I make up for in sheer willpower. I’ve finished over 12 races and plan on running the rest of my life. Running keeps me sane, so why not continue being sane?

I love reading and will be posting article, tips, and videos related to running, training, whatever! Also, as I live in the area where the race is being held, I feel like I can provide “insider’s tips” about the course, and what to expect when it comes to weather and such.

My average milage per week is around 35 at the moment, but I plan to get my butt in gear and that number will probably double by November. The WHM will be my second half and I can’t even begin to tell you how amazing my experience was with last year’s. The emotional roller coaster that is running is only exemplified while performing in a race. All of your hard work is put to test, and so is your emotional and mental toughness.

Although it’s a scenic, flat course, just the sheer amount of distance you’re covering kind of humbles anyone. I remember around mile 9, there’s a “lake” you have to run around and you’re looking at all the women who just finished running around the entire thing and you haven’t even started yet and your mind kind of scrambles. I don’t remember much of running around that lake because I definitely went to my “happy place”, but I remember coming to, if you will, when I finished running around it, and mentally patting myself on the back.

And that’s kind of where my mindset about racing changed. It’s about the big picture, yes, but as human beings we liked to be rewarded, so small goals always boost my confidence. Like, “just get to the big glass building” or “run until mile 7”. By setting these mini goals, I can smile when I reach them and asses how I feel as a whole at each one.

So I hope that you’ll join me on this journey and share with me any tips, secrets, or just support as we head towards November!

Tags: , , , ,

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

One response to “Born to Run”

  1. Mr WordPress says :

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

