The Ever Arguable Topic Of Music

I’m one of those runner’s who needs music. It drives me, motivates me through the pain, and pushes me through the rough spots mid-run.

I know running with music has become kind of a controversial topic. Some argue that it is dangerous interfering with your focus, distracts you from your breathing and desensitizes you to your environment. There’s an amazing article from Runner’s World that explains both sides and you can read that here.

Personally, I like to listen to rap and techno when I run because it’s fast moving and the tempo keeps me going and I’m not much for that kind of music in “real life” but my running alter ego takes over. There’s a plethora of tools and sites that allow you build playlists that cater to whatever your music preference.

But be careful, “Some 25 percent of college age people may already have mild hearing loss according to new research published in the International Journal of Audiology.” says Women’s Health Magazine (September 2011). So if someone close to you can hear your music, then turn it down.

 

 

Tags: , , ,

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

