First Day of Class, Ankle Pain, and Newly Stubbed Toes.

Today was the first day of classes for the fall semester and my schedule is pretty awesome;
9:30-10:45 Pre-Algebra (I SUCK AT MATH.)
12:30-1:45 Psychology
2-3:15 Western Humanities
5:30-6:45 World Literature

All of my professors speak english, which is a definite bonus, and all seem super sweet. (So far).

Yesterday, I went with my running buddy Sarah (she’s in blue on the left) to a local park.
 We did our normal 2.4 mile loop but my ankle was throbbing beyond the point of pain. I’m not sure what is wrong with it, but I’m calling for an appointment this week. Hopefully something easy to fix! 🙂

I bought new athletic tape that supposed to help with injuries before and after you get them, so we’ll see how that goes. I tried some yesterday but it was struggling to stay attached to my skin.

In other news, Sarah has tentatively agreed to do the Princess Half with me (if she feels like she’s trained enough), so I’m super stoked!

And I totally want to dress up like a princess, don’t judge me.

Now, I’ve really wanted to get into swimming because I used to swim competitively when I was younger and I miss the way it made me feel, it’s kind of like running but…submerged in water. I also look forward to training for a triathlon and a third of the race is swimming, so I figure it’s important to start somewhere, but there’s quite literally no where to train in my area.

Granted, I live by the ocean and could just go back and forth on the shore there but everywhere I’ve read has said it’s safer to start in a pool where you can easily get out if you feel too tired (and there aren’t a plethora of sea creatures nibbling at my feet) and go from there. But I’m pretty desperate so I might hit the ocean, anyone have any advice?

In training news, my longest long run was always 9 miles, because there’s a loop I can do where I start at my house, run the beach road and end up back at my house 9 miles later, but I’m serious about improving my half time this year so I need a better/longer run.

So, lo and behold, I found one! Well, more like made one. I love mapmyrun.com because it’s like, “hey, I want to try something new but I have no idea how I can loop it back!” and it’s like, “no problem, I got this.”

So, here’s my route. Nifty, right? I thought so, too.

Anywho, Women’s Half Marathon released their medals for the St. Petersburg race a couple weeks ago and I have to say, I am absolutely in LOVE with them! Double palm trees? I think I will, yes.

🙂

Next time I’ll be posting some pictures of my long run and misc. stuff.

Until then, check out my updated training schedule.

 

 

EDIT: I forgot to mention my toe-stubbing incident.
I’m talking on the phone with my dad and I’m laying on my stomach on my bed when I bring my foot down and it catches the edge of the coffee table down there.

My toe is purple. And swollen. And extremely painful. I’ll post pictures later! hahaha….

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

