Lucky Charms

I’m not superstitious.

But I am when it comes to races. I have a white hat and a BRIGHT pink shirt that I wear to every single race. I don’t know why but I feel powerful and feminine when I wear it.

Except, I wear it all the time. Hahaha, see?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yeah. But, the more I looked into it, the more I noticed how tightly runners cling to their lucky charms.

Runner’s World has this beyond witty article about elite athletes who cling to their charms just as much as anyone else. Here are some funny stories;

MICHAEL WARDIAN
2010 bronze medalist 100-K World Championships
‘I wear my lucky socks (The North Face Fire Road). I only wear them to race. Then I triple-knot my shoelaces. Finally, I put on my ball cap backward. I always had to wear a helmet for lacrosse in high school and college, so wearing something on my head gets me ready to compete. It makes me feel serious and gets me ready to push myself to the highest level.’

RYAN HALL
U.S. 12-K and half-marathon record holder
“I shave my head, face, and legs a day before a big race. It makes me feel lighter and faster. It gets me excited to race.”

SCOTT JUREK
Seven-time winner of the Western States Endurance Run
“During my first five Western States victories, I had a lucky pair of shorts that I wore. I also always crumple my race bib and make it more like soft fabric so it moves better with my clothing and my body. It comes from my old Nordic ski-racing days.”

SARA HALL
Runner-up in the 2010 Fifth Avenue Mile
“I’ve raced in the same pair of Japan Thunder spikes for five years. But I always bring three pairs with me when I travel. If one gets lost and one gets stolen, I’ll still have a backup pair.”‘

I love that I’m not alone.

Do you have a ritual or lucky charm?

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

