Training, Training, Training, and oh yeah, that little thing called Training.

So, I kinda sorta realized today that there are 83 days, 4 hours, and 32 minutes until my Half Marathon. (I have a counter-downer thing).

Which means, I only have 83 days to finish my training plan. Which also means that I only have 83 days to be completely prepared for this race. Granted, it won’t be the end of the world if I don’t, I’d like to avoid injuries and beat last year’s time…so it’s kind of important.

While I may feel completely unprepared at this point, I have hope for these next few weeks.

Now if you haven’t noticed, I’ve been posting a lot of triathlon-geared things and being so inspired like I was, I started a training plan for that as well.

BUT, here’s the catch, I’m doing them at the same time. So say for instance Tuesday I’m scheduled to bike 40 minutes in the PM, I would also look to my running plan and run the 25 minutes I’m scheduled.

I feel like I’m getting the best of both worlds and I have to be honest, I feel fantastic.
I’m excited, nervous, anxious, determined, and a little pumped about all of these opportunities.

While I may feel unprepared, I know come November that I’m going to be a beast.

 

 

Note: While I may be pushing my body, I do NOT recommend following two hardcore training plans. I am following one (Couch to Half Marathon) which is a moderately easy training plan and very do-able if you’re a first timer as well as the Half Ironman Training Plan. If 2 things collide on a day, I only perform one, and it always depends on how my body feels.

Never exert more than you should and LISTEN TO YOUR BODY. If you’re beyond exhausted, stop. If you feel faint, dizzy or weak, stop.

And also, never increase your mileage or time more than 10% a week to avoid overexertion and injury.

This is an article explaining why it’s so important to follow that guideline.

 

In happy news, I bought a new bike pump!
ANNNNNDDDDD, I ran 7 miles without stopping!

Now, that may not be a huge deal to some of you, but to me, it’s amazing.

In 2009, I couldn’t run a half mile, let alone 14 half miles!

HA! Take that, old self.

Tags: , , ,

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

