Running Through Life.

I’m the kind of girl who goes for a run when life gets me stressed, depressed, anxious, down, up, happy, relieved, you name it.

I love the feeling I get when I can focus on something other than life for an hour or two, heck, even if it’s for 20 minutes. It lets me escape reality and all I have to think is, “left foot, right foot, left foot, right foot.”

There have been runs where all I can think about is putting one foot in front of the other, and there are some runs where it takes a while to forget it all. My mind is so completely frazzled that it takes a mile or two for it to realize, “hey, I can relax now.”

Lately, my life has been everything but simple. And I understand that everyone has something. And that’s why I always offer to go running with people, because I want to show them just how therapeutic running can be.

My dad, who has been in the Air Force 20 years has PTSD due to time served in Iraq and Afghanistan. With this PTSD comes anxiety. With the anxiety comes OCD. Now, let me get something clear. In no way, shape or form is my dad damaged. He’s not a zombie who goes through life uncaring and on the other hand he’s not a ‘Nam vet who wants to share war stories ’til the cows come home.

He’s a normal guy, with a normal family (we like to think so, anyways) who just happens to have seen things his mind can’t truly comprehend.

And running? Running makes me feel like I’m home again. Running makes me feel like I can get through the day despite the constant stressors it entails. Running makes me feel close to my dad, and helps me cope with his situation.

This is my dad and I when I was about 4. I love him like crazy and think he is an inspiration.

He used to run in high school and recently told me that he wants to start running 5k’s with me once he’s retired. WHICH WOULD BE AWESOME. 🙂

 

Now, the more I thought about it, the more it made sense. Running lets us escape everything while staying in touch with ourselves. We can become completely in tune with our mind and body while striking the stress of life away one foot step at a time.

I will always be grateful to running for keeping my sanity and showing me that there can be balance in my life without turning to bad choices to make sense of it all.

Now, I found out today that my great uncle Thomas passed and literally the first thing I did was throw on my shoes and walk out the door.

To know that there is always something willing to listen to me, to hear me out until the bitter end, to help me make sense of it all, makes running so worthwhile.

It’s knowing that I can go whenever I want, and it will always be there.

To know that I can be going through literally anything and the road will always listen, no matter how petty the problem.

 

I know this has nothing to do with training, but it’s a necessary topic.
Running is life if you allow it be, and it can change you in the best way possible.

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

