Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure

Saturday was the Suncoast Affiliate Race for the Cure. I ran in the 10k which started at 7:30 so here is a spam of pictures of me pre-race.

My aunt Brenda had breast cancer but last I heard is recovering quite nicely. I wish I talked to her more, but I hope she knows that I love and support her wholeheartedly.

Stretching out!

Notice how I wore my bright pink shirt and white hat to stand out in the crowd. Notice also that EVERYONE ELSE seems to be wearing pink shirts. And white hats.

As the race started the 10k group was about 1/5 of the size of the 5k crowd. Seeing as how this is my last race to gauge where I’m at training wise before the WHM, I wanted to give my all.

When the horn went off, the beginning goes on a brick road (by the way I HATE running on brick roads) and then we took a left towards the pier. My ankles all of the sudden went, “Hey! Forget us? Yeah, okay, well we’re gonna kill you now.”

Meh. I went until about mile 2.3 walking then ate my sports “jelly beans” which were delicious and kicked up the pace. At mile 4 I had a great push that lasted for a good mile where I felt like I was flying. Then I died again.

This race was definitely the reality check that I needed pre-half marathon. I need to extend my long runs and build up my aerobic endurance. But, here are some awesome pictures my parents took at the finish.

There’s me with the arms in the air in the back! Haha.

I’m somewhere in the midst of pink.

Headed to the finish.

All in all, I loved the atmosphere. Like my dad said on the way home, “It feels empowering to be a part of something bigger than yourself.”

In other news, please check out my running buddy’s post on her University’s website. Check it out here!

Tags: , ,

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

