Derry; The Walled City

Every day that we’ve been here has been like something out of a dream. The people are inviting, the culture is amazing and the landscape is like something out of a picture. We’ve been having classes, as scheduled, but we’re getting to go on all different “cultural excusrions” and the views from such are astounding.

I have to say that my favorite place I’ve been to so far, and I think the group all agrees, is Giant’s Causeway. It’s a crystalized volcanic rock formation that created these hectagon stones that jut in all different directions. You’re able to climb on top of them and it’s almost unreal.

We’ve been able to see places like Glenvaugh National Park which was awesome in of itself; it’s 18th century castle and grounds is enough to make anyone feel humble. As you walk through the gardens with the castle walls on one side of you and lake side mountains on the other, you start to appreciate the world you live in.

But what really strikes me is the Irish people. Not only will they go out of their way to make you feel welcome, but they could talk to you for hours if you were willing. They’re kind, considerate and warm to say the least. As we’ve gone through our journey here, you feel as though you’re a part of the culture, one of them if you will.

What also hits home is their history. The religious clash between Protestant and Catholic, the ever burning tension between Derry/Londonderry, and the deep wounds that are still healing because of the “troubles”. If you were to ask anyone about the troubles, they would be more than willing to sit down with you and go detail by detail.

Now, I only have a few more days here in Derry, but I’ve truly fallen in love with this city and its people. I’ll be heading to Dublin next and am very excited for the hustle and bustle of a big city, but I’ll miss the closeness of this town.

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

