My First Triathlon

This Saturday, the 8th, will mark my first ever triathlon. I can’t explain to you how many emotions I have about it. Anxiety, excitement, fear, adrenaline, pride.

At this point, my goal is to finish. The end. I already know there are only 2 other girls in my age group so I feel like that takes a lot of the pressure that I was feeling away. Only two other girls that I’m technically competing against. So what if I come in last? I still get third.

My training has been subpar since I signed up. I’ve been so busy this summer it was almost silly to take on something like this, but I don’t want to drop something just because of an excuse. I’ve committed and I’ll stay that way.

It’s going to be a sprint distance so it will be a 1/4 mile swim, a 10.2 mile bike ride and a 5k. For my first distance, it’s a good one. Bite size, if you will. 🙂

I still have no idea what I’ll be wearing. Or what shoes I’ll use. Or how my clips will feel with a newer bike. But hey, pre-race anxiety can’t last all week….right?

Tonight I will be doing a 20 mile bike ride (on a stationary bike) to measure my time and really get a feel for how my legs will hold up. I’ve done a few brick workouts (going right from the bike to the run, or swim to the bike) and my legs are usually okay, my hamstrings are notoriously tight though. So I’ll probably stop in at a yoga class by tomorrow just to get loosened up.

But, I’m excited. And even though I have to keep reminding myself of that, I really am. And I can’t tell you how proud of myself I am for taking this on. I know when I cross that finish line, I’ll be one happy girl.

Tags: , , , , ,

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

