Daily Musings

Since my triathlon, I have been slacking on a strict training schedule. School has literally taken over my life and so I run into the weekends with open arms because I’m desperate to get away from school. But, I feel like as we get closer to the end of the world and what not, it’s time to get back into the swing of things.

I’m focusing mainly on weight loss with emphasis on endurance training. I spend most of my time in the gym doing cardio and the rest with strength training. I also got a personal trainer that I go see once a week with my mom (which is awesome!) and he seriously kicks our ass. I always feel like death afterwards.

As we go into the dreaded “holiday” season where temptations are everywhere my new mantra has become moderation. Except when it comes to beer, because there’s no such thing as too much beer. But in regards to food, I’ve cut out snacking completely because I have this terrible habit of “snacking” on 4 different things and usually right before and after meals which does no one any good.

I have the Women’s Half Marathon on November 18th and I plan on walking it entirely because I have put in NO training this year. Recently, I acquired a hip injury (I have no idea how it happened, though) and I literally can’t walk without a terrible limp. So, even walking the half might be out of the picture which is devastating because this will be my 4th year in a row.

The worst feeling in the world is being told you can’t run. Like all of the sudden your one source of outlet, therapy, release is gone without your consent. I know that injuries heal but speaking from experience, you never get back to 100%. Ever. After my ankle tore, it took me 5 months just to start jogging again and to this day, I couldn’t tell you how much money I would pay to be able to run pain free.

But alas, here we are.

So I’ve started a new goal tracking system where I plan my workouts for the week on Sunday night. I look at what I want to accomplish and write it all down, that way I feel accountable for it actually happening. Like tomorrow, Wednesday:

11am- Ethics Class
1pm-Meeting in Clearwater
4:30-Spin Class (as per hip’s pain level)
6-Yoga

Oh! That’s another thing. I’ve been trying to get back into yoga because it’s just what I need sometimes. I don’t think you realize how beneficial yoga is until you stop going cold turkey and you stop reaping said benefits. Merp.

So here’s to a successful week. And a healed hip.

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

