Wanderlust.

I have always had this intense urge to travel, to be lost, to see new things, to feel the earth beneath my feet.

I’ve never been able to let go of that urge or get a hold on it, whenever an opportunity presents itself, I take advantage of it. A roadtrip? Yes. A cruise? Yes. Study Abroad? Yes. Why should I limit myself to what I’m allowed to do? Who makes those rules anyways?

The more that I do see, the more I appreciate what I have. What I’ve been given. I’ve been given health. I’ve been given a family. Friends that love me, an education, jobs, food, warmth, love. I’m lucky. I know that.

But I can’t help but feel like my purpose isn’t limited to what I’ve been given. I’m constantly striving for more and I think there’s a reason.

I’m not entirely sure what that reason is nor do I need to know, I just want to explore the possibility of reasons. Tangle myself between them, lose myself to the idea of them, find myself within them.

There could be some profound reason like changing lives. There could be a mundane reason like I was an explorer in a past life. Who knows.

What I do know is this, I am the best version of myself when I’m traveling. I’m happy, I’m free, I’m wild, I’m the rawest form of me and also the most refined. I become who I’m meant to be, I transform into something out of a book. Placid yet intriguing, sharp yet content, I’m this ultimate conundrum of characteristics.

I learn something new about who I am and who I want to become every time I step foot onto a plane. A new land means new memories, new ideas, new thoughts.

Just the thought of getting on a plane and going anywhere makes me yearn for an adventure. To meet the people the tour guides warn you about, the locals. Learn the way they conduct themselves, learn their culture, how they communicate, how they learn, how they love and why they love their country.

Dr. Suess once said, “Oh, the places we will go…” and to me, that is everything. That’s my past, present, future. The places I’ve been define me. The places I’m going define who I will be.

And I’ll just be along for the journey.

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 28, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a comment