Gravity.

We’ve all heard the adage, “We want what we can’t have.” A huge part of me has always wondered why that is. We see something we like and we want it, need it almost. Then when told we aren’t allowed to have it the feeling suddenly intensifies. We absolutely need it, have to hold it, have it, touch it. It needs to be ours.

Is it because we’re told no? Do we automatically register that as a desire?

I want a lot of things in my life, need them? No, but it would be nice to have them. I’ve exhausted the fact that I want to travel. But I’ve noticed when people tell me I can’t, I immediately book a flight bound for anywhere. To prove them wrong maybe? I don’t know.

It’s a conundrum, really. We lust after these things that aren’t good for us. Usually, anyways.

There are some things in my life, right this moment, that I’ve been told I can’t have. So naturally, I’m doing everything in my power to get them.

I’m completely fascinated by what’s happening though. I’m taking notes and observing my own behavior all while embarrassing the hell out of myself trying to accomplish my goal.

But, in the end, I know what I want. Whether it be good for me or not. As time goes by and I get older I start to notice smaller things. A quick smile from the guy at the coffee shop, a little wave from a pedestrian, a second longer on the handshake from that one guy. They’re not big moments but I kind of revel in them.

They’re like little distractions. You know those times when there’s only one thing on your mind and nothing you do will side step that thought. It’s always there, always prevalent and everything you do seems to relate in some way back to that one thing?

I like to take the time to notice the little distractions because in the end, that big thought will get chipped away. Slowly, I know. But a little piece will be taken away each time I notice something else. Each time there’s a new distraction, a tiny little thought kind of flutters away.

About wayfaringbridges

I'm Stephanee. I'm 25, a former travel agent who got tired of selling trips to others and decided to start taking trips of my own. I'm traveling as far and as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

